“It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” by Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty

 Out Now – Listen Here

New Song From Stoned Cold Country, A 60th Anniversary Tribute Album to The Rolling Stones

Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty To Perform Track Live For The First Time Together at “The 56th Annual CMA Awards” on Wednesday, November 9 

Forthcoming Star-Studded Album Features Covers from Country’s Biggest Stars: Jimmie Allen, Brooks & Dunn, Brothers Osborne, Eric Church, Steve Earle, Elle King, Marcus King, Little Big Town, Ashley McBryde, Maren Morris, Elvie Shane, Koe Wetzel, The War And Treaty, Lainey Wilson & Zac Brown Band

November 4, 2022 – Today, the first taste of Stoned Cold Country – a forthcoming 60th anniversary tribute album to The Rolling Stones from some of Country’s biggest names – arrives with the release of Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty’s soulful rendition of “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It).” Listen to the song now and pre-save/pre-add Stoned Cold Country here.

Intertwining old school Rock ‘N’ Roll guitar parts with powerhouse vocals, the track takes a Country spin on The Rolling Stones’ hit song, which was originally released in July 1974 as the lead single of their October 1974 album It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll. A music video will be released at a later date. 

Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty will hit the stage live at The 56th Annual CMA Awards on Wednesday, November 9 (8/7c on ABC) for a not-to-be-missed debut broadcast performance of the collaboration. Brothers Osborne are the reigning CMA Vocal Duo of the Year and nominated again in that category this year, while the performance of “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” will mark The War And Treaty’s first time on the show. 

“We couldn’t be more honored to take part in such a unique tribute to, not only one of music’s most influential trailblazers, but one of our favorite bands of all time,” shared Brothers Osborne. “And to top it off, we get to enjoy the spoils with two of our favorite people and fellow Marylanders, The War And Treaty. We adore them both.”

"It is such an honor to be part of a tribute to one of our favorite bands of all time and to share this moment with Brothers Osborne makes it that much more special," said Michael Trotter Jr. of The War And Treaty. "We cannot wait to share the stage with them next week at the CMA Awards and we are looking forward to hearing what fans think of our take on the song.”

Stoned Cold Country will be released in 2023 on BMG, filled to the brim with reimagined versions of the legendary rock band’s catalogue. Throughout the record, which was produced by Robert Deaton, the participating artists – Jimmie Allen, Brooks & Dunn, Brothers Osborne, Eric Church, Steve Earle, Elle King, Marcus King, Little Big Town, Ashley McBryde, Maren Morris, Elvie Shane, Koe Wetzel, The War And Treaty, Lainey Wilson & Zac Brown Band – all inject their own trademark style into the revered music of The Stones across Stoned Cold Country, creating a powerful homage to one of the most enduring, trailblazing and influential bands in the world.

"This album is Country Music's thank you to The Rolling Stones for 60 years of inspiration and providing the soundtrack of our lives. While recording the record, I was reminded that this is a showcase and spotlight on the best we have to offer as a genre,” Deaton says of the project. “From our artists to all of the musicians that played on the record, we boldly state that Country Music is second to none when it comes to artists of integrity and creativity.”

Stoned Cold Country Tracklist

  1. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” – Ashley McBryde
  2. “Honky Tonk Women” – Brooks & Dunn
  3. “Dead Flowers” – Maren Morris
  4. “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” – Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty 
  5. “Miss You” – Jimmie Allen
  6. “Tumbling Dice” – Elle King
  7. “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” – Marcus King
  8. “Wild Horses” – Little Big Town
  9. “Paint It Black” – Zac Brown Band
  10. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” – Lainey Wilson
  11. “Sympathy for the Devil” – Elvie Shane
  12. “Angie” – Steve Earle
  13. “Gimme Shelter” – Eric Church 
  14. “Shine A Light” – Koe Wetzel


About Brothers Osborne

Two sons from a working-class family, John and TJ Osborne grew up in a small Maryland water town writing and playing songs for friends and family in their father’s shed. John moved to Nashville first to play in other bands and two years later, TJ joined him. It was then they formed Brothers Osborne as a duo that blends equal parts country and rock into one of the freshest, most identifiable sounds to come out of Nashville in recent years. Standing as nine-time GRAMMY nominees, the singer/songwriter siblings took home their first trophy for Best Country Duo/Group Performance (“Younger Me”) at the 64th GRAMMY Awards. The duo scored their fourth Vocal Duo of the Year trophy at the 55th annual CMA Awards, in addition to being named ACM Duo of the Year three times. Overall, Brothers Osborne have collected five CMA and six ACM trophies. Additionally, they received the ASCAP Vanguard Award in 2019 recognizing artists whose innovative work is helping to shape the future of music. 

Brothers Osborne’s deluxe edition of their GRAMMY nominated third studio album, Skeletons, is out now. Originally released in October 2020, Skeletons features their recent single “I’m Not For Everyone,” as well as their Top 25 hit “All Night.” Included on Skeletons Deluxe, “Younger Me” was released in response to the overwhelming support TJ received after sharing his personal story. John and TJ wrote and produced the track, with Kendell Marvel serving as an additional co-writer. Initially breaking through with their debut album Pawn Shop, the Gold Certified project featured three GRAMMY-nominated tracks including the 2X Platinum Certified No. 1 smash hit “Stay A Little Longer,” Top 10 2X Platinum Certified hit “It Ain’t My Fault,” and Gold Certified Top 25 hit “21 Summer.” Their sophomore album, Port Saint Joe, was nominated for Best Country Album at the 61st GRAMMY Awards and includes the Top 40 GRAMMY-nominated singles “Shoot Me Straight” as well as “I Don’t Remember Me (Before You).” Brothers Osborne recently wrapped their headlining WE’RE NOT FOR EVERYONE TOUR and have previously toured with Chris Stapleton, Eric Church, Little Big Town, Miranda Lambert and more.

About The War And Treaty

Founded in 2014 by the husband-and-wife duo Michael Trotter Jr. and Tanya Trotter, The War And Treaty have emerged as one of the most electrifying new acts in American music. With a lionhearted sonic blend – both roaring with passion and tender to the touch – the showcase “pure love that shatters and defies every musical category," (Music Row). They recently made their UMG/Mercury Nashville single debut with the release of the euphoric song, “Lover’s Game.” as the soul-soaked track was co-written by the pair with Dave Cobb and serves as the title-track for their forthcoming album.Earning respect, they’ve gone on to appear as top-flight collaborators, and have been recognized by the Country Music Hall of Fame, the Grand Ole Opry and the Americana Music Association as "2022 Duo/Group of the Year.” The duo have dominated stages across the globe including North America, Europe, Italy, Australia, and Ireland, while headlining their own shows and opening for a diverse group of living legends; Al Green, Brandi Carlile, Jason Isbell, John Legend, Lauren Daigle and Van Morrison among them. The War And Treaty continue to take their "exhilarating live shows” (NPR) on the road with their HEARTS ON FIRE TOUR and for more information, visit www.thewarandtreaty.com.

Back to blog